Thursday, 25 April 2013

Glasgow Warriors Awards Dinner 2013 results

Glasgow Warriors Awards Dinner results:

Young Player of the Year: 

Mark Bennett

Most Improved Player:

Peter Murchie

Test Player of the Season:

Stuart Hogg

The Coaches Award

James Eddie

Best Try

3rd place
Stuart Hogg v Munster

2nd place
Niko Matalawu v Ulster

1st place
Peter Hore v Northamton saints

Special Achievement Award
DTH receives a milestone award becoming top try scorer of all time 

Player of the 2013 season

Niko Matalawu

Saturday, 20 April 2013

Another win, another bonus point!

First of all we would like to make the very professional comment of....


What a win!! Happier than a pig in... well, we are happy. We are sore headed (thanks to Viper Westend for a great night) and we are loving it!

We imagine there are many in the same vein! We include headaches from the awesome noise produced by we the Warrior Nation! How amazing were we?! Credit where credit is due!

Okay, so for those not on Twitter or Facebook, the winners of the 2013 players awards were;

Ladies (and gents) choice - DTH (think he was quite surprised)

On-line personality - Duncan Weir (heal up soon buddy)

Supporters favourite - Niko Matalawu (don't think that was much of a surprise: Niiiiiiikooooo Niiiiiikooo)

Elite development Player player of the year - Jonny Gray (great future ahead)

Player of the year - Niko Matalawu (Matalwu Magic!)

Thanks guys for the assist in the raffle and for coming down to pick up your awards.

In other news, the winners of the raffle will be contacted so arrangements can be made to give you your prizes.

Also we have an exclusive Play off t-shirt offer for XVIth Warrior members! This offer is available to existing and new fully signed up members (please complete the registration process via the membership tab at the top of the page).

Due to time restraints this offer will expire at midnight.

Here is a sneaky peekey...

Details have gone out to existing members, the offer will be sent again on Sunday 21 April 2013 to capture any new members that sign up and complete the full registration process in that time.

Friday, 19 April 2013

Tonight is the night!

It's all on tonight folks!

We have the £1 to play raffle draw* which will take place post match in the club house and here is a quick reminder of the prizes!

First Prize: 
A signed 2012/2013 Glasgow Warriors Ball (the lovely people at Glasgow Warriors have it so we don't have a photo)

Second Prize:
A vintage signed Glasgow Warriors shirt (We spotted Max Evans signature in there)
Third Prize:
A signed print of Sean Lineen

Fourth Prize;
A signed print of Al Kellock
Fifth Prize:
A Bottle of Chablis**
Sixth Prize:
A Famous Grouse Polo shirt

Also we have the Players awards!  The players (or a representative if they are unavailable) will be along to collect their award! Here's a quick reminder:

The nominations for Ladies choice are:

Niko Matalawu                                   DTH Van Der Merwe                    Pat MacArthur

The nominations for Best On-line Personality are:
Al Kellock                             Duncan Weir                                Stuart Hogg 

The nominations for Supporters Favourite are:

DTH Van Der Merwe                       Al Kellock                       Niko Matalawu 

The nominations for Elite Development Player are: (Drawing not posted as we don't want to give the game away!)

    Finn Russell                  Jonny Gray

The nominations for Player of the year are:

Josh Strauss                                                   Niko Matalawu                                                                        Stuart Hogg 

*All proceeds of the raffle will go towards running costs of The XVIth Warrior.
**Alcoholic prizes will only be awarded to those over 18. Wine can be substituted for a Special Ops ear light 

Sunday, 14 April 2013

Glasgow Sevens

Greetings all!

So what next? Well Scotstoun host the Glasgow Sevens and we thought it would be amazing if we could really make a statement and show ourselves proudly as Warrior Nation. The theme for the sevens this year is Movies, and wouldn't it be great to see lots of Warriors supporters dressed up as movie Warrior characters!

For the bold there is  Braveheart, a movie filled with historic Scottish Warriors or what about Gladiator and General Maximus Decimus Meridius or even a Viking from How to train your dragon or for the (very very) brave Spartans from 300! You could start that beach body diet a little early.

Get those creative juices flowing and help welcome the world to our home!

Tuesday, 2 April 2013

Players awards 2013: Nominations

With a total vote count of 121 (thanks everyone who voted!) we have the top 3 players for each category.

In no particular order...

The nominations for Ladies choice are:

Niko Matalawu

DTH Van Der Merwe

Pat MacArthur

The nominations for Best On-line Personality are:

Al Kellock

Duncan Weir

Stuart Hogg

The nominations for Supporters Favourite are:

DTH Van Der Merwe

Al Kellock

Niko Matalawu

The nominations for Elite Development Player are:

Finn Russell

Jonny Gray

The nominations for Player of the year are:

Josh Strauss

Niko Matalawu

Stuart Hogg

Each winning player will receive an original framed drawing from MOMXWdzyn and will be presented with it at the last home game of the season!

Thanks again everyone!